Third IACMM Paper Competition

Sponsored by the
Israel Association for Computational Methods in Mechanics


IACMM established a paper competition for the best lecture among the papers presented at the association meetings ISCM-13 (Fall 2002, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem) and ISCM-14 (Spring 2003, Technion). The competition is open to all current IACMM members, except for work performed in collaboration with one of the judges.



The winner is Noam Shemesh of the Department of Solid Mechanics, Materials, and Systems, Tel Aviv University. The award-winning presentation was given at the Thirteenth Israel Symposium on Computational Mechanics (ISCM-13) on 10 October, 2002, at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. Mr. Shemesh will present his paper at the European Congress on Computational Methods in Applied Sciences and Engineering (ECCOMAS 2004), with IACMM support for expenses in attending the meeting. In addition to the award, Mr. Shemesh received a certificate from IACMM at the Fifteenth Israel Symposium on Computational Mechanics (ISCM-15) on 23 October, 2003, at Tel Aviv University.

Second prize goes to Leonid Chernin of the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology. His presentation was given at the Fourteenth Israel Symposium on Computational Mechanics (ISCM-14) on 3 April, 2003, at the Technion - Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel. Mr. Chernin received complimentary IACMM membership for three years, as well as a certificate from IACMM.

award picture

Professor Isaac Harari (right), president of IACMM, presenting the certificate to Mr. Noam Shemesh, the award winner, at the Fifteenth Israel Symposium on Computational Mechanics.

Past Winners 

Please send comments or questions about this page to harari@eng.tau.ac.il
Last modified: Fri Oct 31 09:35:07 IST 2003